Symbolism

Merchants of Fear


Overdraft Calculations

We are living in a society marred by the agents of fear wreaking havoc in the lives of masses, dictating their own terms of engagement for a common man to survive, without having an inkling of what they are doing to the already devastated lives of poor masses.

To begin with, my life is divided into three times namely, Past, Present, and Future and so am I, surrounded by three kinds of people. Two of them are so-called self-proclaimed custodians of my life in their own right and the third individual is none other than the ‘egoistic me’.

The three of us are all living in the Present, yet I am dragged into the past by the theologian [the so-called custodian of my religious beliefs], as he has stories from the past on which he can capitalize by selling ‘Fear’.

I am forced to lead my life into the future by the politician [as he paints my present in gloom and promises my future in bloom] thus forcing me to live in present with ‘Fear’, with a promise to change my future by painting a rosy picture.

I personally like to live my present planning for a promising future ahead with a ‘Fear’ of failure looming in the back of my mind.

Since I am born free, so it is only me who has the right to live the way I want my life to be, yet I am continuously being forced to live a life dictated by the ‘Merchants of Fear’.

Overdraft Calculations

Sajjad Hussain

2 thoughts on “Merchants of Fear”

Leave a comment