Eduaction, Ethics, Humanity, Philosophy, Religion, Self development, Symbolism, Wisdom

The SOUL


Soul

I had been trying to find the exact meaning of soul and/or spirit and what I have found is an ambiguous meaning attached to both the words. At times, I found that the two words have been used interchangeably.

So instead of getting into the nitty gritty of exact meaning of the two words under consideration, I am using the word soul to express my thoughts in the blog rather then getting my audience confused with the jargon.

The reason why I want to make use of the word soul for this blog is that I have read the word ‘soul searching’ quite often but never spirit searching. And since my current blog is more about exploring ‘self’ through soul searching, so it is more appropriate to use the word soul for the title of my blog.

The moment body of a baby gets soul, all the metabolic functions are activated inside the body. In quite a few management related training, specially on ‘Change’, quite a few trainers (humorously) quote the example of an uncomfortable baby in diaper by saying that in the entire universe, only a baby wholeheartedly accepts change (changing diaper). As the baby grows and comes out into the world, mother’s top priority is to keep the baby clean and baby by nature is more uncomfortable when he pees or poops. This practice of keeping the body clean continues by all sane humans till the end of their life.

Recently my elder brother died and since his entire family was outside the country, so his dead  body was kept into the cold storage for a day. Upon asking the reason why it was kept into the cold storage, I came to know that, the dead body, if kept in open, it starts stinking within hours, as it decomposes.

At that very moment, the idea to write this blog clicked my mind. What I conclude from the concept just shared is, by nature the soul is pure. The moment it enters the body, it tries to keep the body clean from all kind of filth. The moment we (humans) accumulate pee and/or poop, it has to be excreted out of the body, even the fart cannot remain inside the body, else we become uncomfortable. Here the distinction of human is made because animals don’t have to wait to get rid of their poop or pee, they do so wherever they are without being careful about keeping themselves away from the filth.

When we die and the soul gets out of our body, the body either has to be buried or cremated or has to be kept in cold storage, if the descendants want it to be preserved for long period of time, so that it does not stink. What an amazing concept, we seldom care about looking at the nature of soul, which is pure and free from filth and stinking and where ever it goes or rests, it keeps it (our body) pure and filth free as well.

The sweat (having bad odor) is also excreted out of the body, but it remains on the body and causes uncomfortable feeling. So, if we are able to take shower immediately, we do so, else we have deodorants and perfumes to keep the body smell good, but keeping the soul good is more important then the body, as the body will be buried, but the soul will last forever.

I have added this question after I received a comment from one of my friend Sulaiman Dawood.   “Soul keeps the body alive and does not clean”.

To make my point clear let me tell you that there is a difference between ‘ME’ and ‘MY’. I have MY hands, eyes, ears, legs tongue, heart etc. but I am wondering to know where is ME.

I have eyes, can they see if I close them? I have ears, can they listen, if I don’t want to? I have hands, can they work, if I don’t ask them to, and the list goes on…

It is ME who asks MY eyes to see, it is ME who asks MY ears to listen, it is ME who asks MY hands to work and the list goes on…

ME is my soul and MY is my body. My body is useless, if I don’t have soul, because it is my soul, which has the power to govern my body.

So for any reason, if we have yet not tried to keep our soul (by virtue of the power it has to govern the body) as pure as it was in the beginning, it is time for us to re-think and make it as pure as possible, by continuously reflecting through soul searching and acquiring wisdom.

images

Listen to the sound of SOUL.

Sajjad Hussain

2 thoughts on “The SOUL”

  1. Sir why non living things e.g fruits decay or decompose when they don’t have soul ? And why martyred’s body donot decompose beneath the earth does the soul returns in it ?

    Like

    1. Who said that plants are non-living, fruits are the off springs of plants which carries the genes (seeds) for the future plants.

      No one has ever dug the grave to see what happens to their body. We being Muslims having faith in Holy Quran and since it’s written there that “they are not dead yet you don’t have a concept of their (martyrs’) life”.

      Like

Leave a Reply

