Eduaction, Ethics, Philosophy, Self development, Symbolism, Wisdom

Opting for a Religion


religious-diversity

Disclaimer:          This blog is written for people across the world keeping in view various beliefs and religions existing, and to give the reader a thought based on logic, without any intent of asking my reader to change his/her belief.

This time around, I am replicating my answer to a question posted on Quora, “Which is better Buddhism or Islam”?

There is an Indian movie named PK is worth watching to understand the underlying message of how people react to, when asked about the authenticity of a religion.

If I have a knife (knife here is used as a symbol to make my point) and I am a dacoit, I can take someone’s life, but if I am a medical surgeon, using that scalpel (knife), I can save someone’s life.

It is not the knife, which is curing or killing someone, it is the ‘user’ who is making use of that knife to his or her own advantage by virtue of his or her knowledge or ignorance.

Applying that same analogy to religions, not a single religion existing in the world, ever said killing people is justified. I respect all the religions and expect every one of us to do the same, yet it is a far cry in wilderness of ‘Manimals’ (sorry to use the word ‘manimals’, because when man starts behaving like an animal, what else can s/he be called).

In mathematics, when we want to draw graphs in two dimension, we draw X and Y axis. On X-axis, we have independent variables and on Y-axis we have dependent variables. X-axis is drawn horizontally, whereas the Y-axis rises vertically up.

There are two types of dreams, the dreams, which we see in the night, and day dreams. The dreams in the night are beyond our control, so we can put them on X-axis. The dreams which we see during day time are very much in our control i.e. they are dependent, so we can put them on Y-axis. In other words, we can say that the dreams which we see during day time are not dreams; they are our plans which we want to implement in our lives for success. When anything is done using proper planning, the chances of success rise.

When I look at my own body, I see quite a few things which are dependent and others are independent. My heart and lungs are independent of my acts, whereas my eyes and hands are very much dependent on me.

If I manage to use those body parts, which are dependent on my actions, effectively, I am bound to rise.

Our age is dependent on time and as such we can put it on X-axis and our mental capability, which is very much dependent on us, can be placed on Y-axis. So, as we keep making use of our abstract mind to explore the world around, we can see what is otherwise invisible to our naked eyes.

I would not emphasize upon anyone to follow X or Y or Z religion. You as a human are born with a free will and that free will basically is going to be judged on the ‘Day of Judgment’ deciding your fate to be in ‘Hell’ or ‘Heaven’.

If I am a historian and I have a leaning for religion X, I will write every good thing about my religion and in a subtle manner would portray religion Y as negative and reverse would be the case if I am the follower of religion Y.

Whosoever is born after say 500 years after me (as a historian) and tries to find the truth about various religions, and /she comes across my book (written as a historian), s/he would get confused as due to my personal bias and hidden agenda, s/he would not get to the truth. Before getting the truth, s/he would be required to go through various scriptures and instead of getting the right guidance, chances are that s/he would be more confused and distracted and as such s/he would opt to become atheist.

I do come across these kinds of discussions every now and then (as I teach Ethics) and I suggest my students not to follow blindly any one. Try to find the logical reason behind every talk given by preachers of various ‘School of Thoughts’ and verify their talk in view of what is written in various scriptures. If you head for the truth with an open heart and an open mind, I assure you that your own ‘MIND’ will guide you to the ‘right path’.

Now again a question arises, who is going to decide that whatever I am or for that matter anyone is following, is the ‘right path’? The answer is, it is way too difficult for us as humans to precisely find it, as we would somehow or the other always require to rely on the books written by various historians and the history itself, which is but written with a bias and with the hidden agenda of the writer. So, no one can guarantee that whatever you are reading is nothing but the truth. Ending up in more confusion is, but very much natural, as we humans are most of the time, biased in our wheeling dealing.

The confusion so created after going through history or reading the books, written centuries ago, is something to be cherished, because it shows that you are ‘thinking’ and this thought process at some point in time, will guide you in the right direction.

I may be wrong but this is how I think, and it is more than enough for me to find solace in my heart that at least I am not a blind follower and I am making use of that beautiful gift of ‘HIS’ called the ‘Mind’.

Sajjad Hussain

Leave a Reply

