Arts, Eduaction, Motivation, Philosophy, Self development, Symbolism, Wisdom

Cherished Possessions


x3

The idea to write this blog came to my mind, while I was responding to a question on Quora. The question was, “What do 50-year-olds know that 20-year-olds often don’t? And here is my answer which I have put in this blog. 

Today while coloring my beard, I came to an unusual analogy, amazingly different then what I ever thought. I like to look young because it gives me strength to face the odds of life, so I color my hairs. By the way I am having less hairs on my head, which in fact made me think of the situation unusually.

In my 20s my hairs and beard were of dark black color, now down the line in my life, I have to color my hair and beard to look young. The question which would pop up in your mind will be, what is unusual about it (it’s very much normal) and when you raise this question you are rightly justified in coming up with the question.

My analogy in this whole story is that while you are in your 20s, normally you have less possessions, not because you don’t like to have them but because you don’t have spent enough time by virtue of your age to accumulate those possessions which you liked to have.

Contrary to this, usually you have more (if you lived your life normally based on your job, qualification, savings and experience) worldly possessions then you actually need. You do accumulate them not because you need them but because you have to save them for the rainy days.

If you don’t have quite a few life obligations to meet, you become less possessive as compared to someone in his/her early 20s.

‘Ignorance’ is depicted by ‘Black’ color and ‘Knowledge’ by ‘White’. So, when you are in your early 20s, you actually are more ignorant then knowledgeable, which is rightly quoted by someone that ‘Life is a journey from Ignorance to Knowledge’, so when you are ignorant you are more inclined towards engaging yourself into acquiring more worldly possessions. You come to realize the true essence of life only, when you have gone through bitter experiences, which compel you to think that the real life starts when you have exhausted all your resources to live a life, worth living.

According to ‘Maslow’s Thoery of Need’, in later stages of your life, you actually start thinking about ‘Self Actualization’, which is the true meaning of life, which you can’t even imagine in your early 20s.

That’s is one of the reasons why, mostly people after retirement opt for social work and charity, because now they have realized the fact that it is now time for them to give back to the society what they got from the society until now. Yet we see people like Mark Zuckerberg, who in his 20s made fortune, but understood the meaning of life at this tender age and donated his possessions to reach to the level of ‘Self Actualization’.

If you manage to capitalize on this understanding in your early 20s, then I think by the time, you cross your half century, you will be far ahead of me, and that’s how you will grow.

So, to conclude my blog, I would say, when the color of your hair turns to white from black, you start losing quite a few of your cherished possessions, like beauty and freshness of your face, your eye sight, and you are faced with other health related issues. At this time, you are left with nothing but cherished memories from your gleaming past, if you have lived it to fulfill your dreams, else it’s nothing but a feeling of remorse to live, yet another life.

Sajjad Hussain

Leave a Reply

