Philosophy, Self development, Symbolism, Wisdom

Counterclockwise


This is the final blog in the series on counterclockwise.

vault-1920-1080-wallpaper
Picture Courtesy

While watching Oceans 11, I conceptualize this blog which is in continuation of my previous 6 blogs on counterclockwise movement, (namely Ticking Clock, Reverse Thinking, Discuss Throw, Scroll the Wheel, Listen the Silence, and Odd Man Out) and this one is the last in series.

In movies, when the bank robberies are committed, usually the palpitation of our heart beat surpasses the Ticking Clock, and when the bank vault is opened by moving the wheel in anticlockwise direction, we are mesmerized by the glitter of the gold inside the vault and wish, if we can have all the treasure inside the vault.

I also have a bank in my mind, the ‘information bank’ wherein a huge treasure of information is hidden. The beauty of this treasure is that I don’t have to worry about it being robbed, as it is invisible to the naked eyes.

The treasure inside the bank vault is reduced whenever we take it out and use it, whereas the beauty of the treasure inside my mind is that it increases as I use it. The more I use, the more I increase the net worth of the treasure inside.

The similarity between the bank vault (which can only be opened when its wheel is turned in counterclockwise direction and my mind vault is that it can only be opened when it is subjected to Reverse Thinking.

For reverse thinking, I have made use of the quote by anonymous, ‘If you continue to think like you’ve always thought, you’ll continue to get what you’ve always got’. For more on this thought read this blog by Michael Michalko.

If you try to draw a spiral using the center as the starting point, you will have to move the pen/pencil in anticlockwise direction, I call it ‘Inside Out’. But if the same spiral is supposed to be drawn the other way round, i.e. ‘Outside In’, then you will have to move the pen/pencil in clockwise direction.

While teaching in the class, instead of explaining everything upfront, I make a story line or a kind of drama to inculcate in them curiosity to know what would be next, so as to develop their thinking capability and finally culminate to the point where I want them to be, which I call ‘Outside In’.

I ask my students in the exam to write their answers such that, the main point of the question is answered first, and then elaborate further, to express their learning and then come up with their creativity through reverse thinking (counterclockwise) to generate new ideas to let me know their learning for grading purposes.

Since I started thinking the other way round, I have developed  in myself a habit to make analogies to understand the complicated intricacies of life to open up new vistas which has been the source of inspiration for me to come up with this blog site Life as EYE see. And in order to inculcate the same spirit among my students, I ask them to follow the unusual path by going against the normal learning in my lectures, and put that learning using creativity of their mind in simplified form in the exam for me to grade them.

I leave here to let my audience, think and try to find out things around, which when moved in the counterclockwise direction will open up insurmountable wealth of information scattered across the globe, to increase their own potential to ‘think out of the box’ to explore the hidden meanings of life for their own good and for the people around, to make this world a place worth living.

Life is beautiful and the beauty lies in the eyes of beholder.

Sajjad Hussain

Leave a Reply

